Slow Down


Sunset over Lake Champlain from Perkins Pier on the Burlington, Vermont waterfront.

Sunset over Lake Champlain from Perkins Pier on the Burlington, Vermont waterfront.

As much as I complaint to myself about the cold in Winter I really do love shooting sunsets in the cold during blue hour! The air is crisp and it adds a certain feeling to the image for me that is hard to describe. It has been below zero cold here as of late so I have not been out shooting much but this image I made a few weeks ago with the last bits of color showing during the sunset. I have been fascinated with silhouette shots recently and on the waterfront here in Burlington there are plenty of these barge poles around to provide a nice foreground to the scene!

The cloud formations over the past month or so have just been terrible and I think good clouds can really add drama to a scene like this. Finally after waiting for quite some time the clouds broke a bit on this night and I was able to get some decent sunset images. Kept it simple here with a simple foreground and some really nice color in the sky. I love the blue coloring at this time…I think it adds a nice accent to everything else going on in the scene!

Image Data: ISO 100. 17mm. F11 @ 1.6 seconds

6 thoughts on “Slow Down

  1. I can’t agree with you more Andy, the clouds really add to the image, the tone in the sky is simply exquisite and just enough detail in the foreground.
    Wonderful capture

  2. Great colors, and the pillar on the right has a good interest point. I am constantly mesmerized by the colors in the morning and evening and have finally found some spots to take some shots. Just need to have that time free, since it is a short time period. If you are out there in this frigid weather than there is no excuse for me either. I’ve been itching to create.

  3. Pingback: 98 Awesome Photography Links That You Won’t Want to Miss

Leave a Reply

