Weekly photo challenge: Curiosity


 

Railroad tracks and bridge. Intervale area, Burlington, Vermont.

 

Last summer I was out one day shooting and decided to head to this bridge which I wanted to shoot for some time. It was the middle of the day with very bright, harsh sun. Terrible lighting conditions but I soldiered on and made the best of the situation. This particular area is close to the Winooski  River and there is a thriving local farming community here, However the spot where this bridge is in is a no mans land.

I set up in the middle of the tracks as I liked the perspective the bridge and tracks gave off into the distance. I happened to also be testing out my newly purchased Canon 17-40mm L series lens as well as a Cokin circular polarizer and three stop neutral density filter. As I was making the images for this HDR bracket a man happened to be walking along the tracks and he stopped dead in the middle of them, Waiting for me to finish. You can see him off in the distance in this image and I did not notice him until he made his was over the tracks…I was quite surprised when I finally saw him and when I processed these images.

I suppose I was a little curious to know where he had come from, Where he was going and why he was on the tracks. To be honest I never was really happy with this image and have it shelved in Lightroom but I did like a few elements of it. I processed the original tonemapped image in Nik Silver Efex Pro three times for +1, -1 and a neutral exposure and re tonemapped the three images. While I am not completely satisfied with this image I thought I would throw it out here to see what people think.

5 thoughts on “Weekly photo challenge: Curiosity

  1. I have just recently come across your blog and I think this is my favorite so far. I like the depth, all the lines, the texture, the tonal range and to top it off a little story to go with it. I have learned a lot from your blog and I like knowing you used a 7d. I’m close to being able to buy one. I am looking forward to that day. Again, beautiful photo!

    • Thanks for liking my small blog Alice. I really want to share the little bit of photography knowledge I have with others and I thought this was a good way to do it. Its been frustrating at times over the past few years being self taught but well worth it.

Leave a Reply

