Tree with sunburst


 

Canon 7d/Canon 17-40mm L series lens. Induro 8m alloy tripod and bhd-1 ballhead. ISO 800 37mm F 18 1/200.

 

While I am lamenting the demise of my Canon 17-40mm L series lens which has to go back to Canon for a second time for dust removal, (Yes I do use a uv filter…I got it back from Canon and there was dust in the lens right out of the box.) This is one of the few images from this past weekend that I managed to save.

I was hiking in an active beaver pond in Smugglers Notch and their is a ton of these old trees that have taken on this gray, petrified appearance. This particular tree is a tall one but because of the snow pack is a few feet into a tree well at the base making setting up a tripod impossible. I noticed the sun peeking through the holes in the tree at the top and saw this image in my mind.

I wanted to try something new so I deliberately overexposed the sky making the tree and sunburst really stand out. I was hand holding my camera which made this shot kind of difficult but I managed to pull of a few frames. Enjoy the weekend!

4 thoughts on “Tree with sunburst

Leave a Reply

