Searching the horizon


Canon 7d/ Canon 17-40mm F 4 L series lens. Induro tripod and ballhead. Cokin "P" series filter holder with 3 stop neutral and 2 stop graduated neutral density filters. ISO 200, 21mm, F 16 @ 20 seconds. Oakledge Park. Burlington, Vermont.

It is Monday today and I thought I would start out on the right foot with a minimalistic, sunset image from a few weeks ago. I have been trying to get a self-portrait of some sort while out shooting and here I did one out of necessity. Shooting this particular location can sometimes get a little boring as the horizon line does not have too much of interest. The flooding we are experiencing now was starting so I did not have much of anything to stand on except this tiny point of rock.

I was a little bored shooting this sunset and I wanted to add something of interest so I thought…”Why not myself?” I had to set the camera on the 10 second timer and scramble through and over flood covered rocks and position myself..Trying to stand still for a long exposure was quite the challenge on a slippery rock! Here is to a good week!

8 thoughts on “Searching the horizon

    • No worries Matthew..It was tough because I had to set the 10 second timer…scramble to set myself for the shot and then count the 20 seconds for the exposure without moving!

  1. Fantastic colors and long exposure. That is some skill to stand still during a long exposure, but it worked and having you in the frame add a nice touch to the setting. Great work!

Leave a Reply

