Marching forward


Canon 7d/ Canon 17-40mm F4 L series lens. UV filter. Lee Big Stopper 10 stop neutral density filter. ISO 100, 40mm, F 11 @ 70 seconds. Burlington, Vermont waterfront with flooding from Lake Champlain.

As promised I have a few images of all the flooding that persists here along the shores of Lake Champlain. The lake does rise quite signficantly in the spring time due to melting snow but I can’t remember a time when it had gotten this bad and all the rain we are getting certainly does not help. If you look to the left side of this image where that old barge is, I should be able to walk out over there but here I am several hundred feet back.

I made this image on yes… A cloudy early morning that was threatening rain. This particular spot is five minutes from my home but I was really liking reflections from the trees in the water. Here you are looking at the back parking lot of the Echo Lake and science aquarium. It’s devoted to the science and ecology of Lake Champlain with lots of neat exhibits about the area.

Using the 10 stop neutral density filter really stopped any movement in the water and gave it that “glassy” look. The sky here is pretty horrible but I think it emphasises the flooding aspect. fortunately I have not had to put on the hip waders to make  an image!

8 thoughts on “Marching forward

    • Thanks Chris…Sadly the level of the lake looks like it may take a few more weeks to come down…Makes a good excuse to head back into the mountains for some images!

    • Yeah, The one I have is by Lee and its called the big stopper. It is an awesome filter! Gives you options for shooting in the daytime and under very bright conditions. The water seems to not be going anywhere at the moment.

    • Eddie…Please do not ever take my images and repost them elsewhere with your own edits. That’s my work…my edits and you stole the work essentially because you never asked to even perform the edits. Please delete that image or else I will be forced to file a dmca take down notice with photobucket. I don’t want to have to do that but as a photographer in the day and age I must protect my work. Please remove the photo promptly within 24 hours or I will file the dmca takedown notice.

Leave a Reply

