10 simple ways to get your creative “spark” back with your photography!


Losing all of your creative desires is something that every artist goes through at one time or another. It is only inevitable that after relentlessly pursuing your creative ideas and vision that you run out of gas, Enter the photography doldrums and can’t quite figure out how to get out! It is never a permanent situation but a frustrating one to be sure. When it comes to my own photography work my mind moves at a frenetic pace with all of the projects that I am working on or have yet to do.

It always hits me like a tone of bricks but after months of getting great images, decent blog posts and working on all of the daily tasks I have with my work, Bam!….The tank is empty and I am not as enthusiastic about my work and creating new images. It isn’t one thing or another that causes this but sometimes we have to step back, put away the camera and refresh our minds a bit. Life is never about straight lines and there has to be a way to get our passion back. How you do this is not an easy answer but here are ten simple steps that I use to get the creative juices flowing again!

1. Learn about a technique you have never done and…Try it!

I know that one direction I would like to go in is with portrait and modeling work but I am definitely a newbie when it comes to flash lighting and portrait work. I really want to explore this area and be proficient so recently I have been educating myself on doing flash work and through some trial and error I found that yes,  I can do this! Typically I shoot landscapes and nature but I don’t want to miss out on all of the other disciplines of photography that are out there.

2. Use a different lens.

I have said this before and this is one that should always be in your head. Change your lens and you change your perspective on the world. I mostly shoot with a wide-angle lens and after a while its how your start viewing the world. What I dont like is that I am missing all of the detail of a composition by going wide. I like to change things up by using my 50mm lens or my 60mm macro lens once in a while. The fixed 50mm insures that I will have to move around more to get a good composition and that I am going to get more of the details of an area rather than the entire scene in the frame.

3. Look at other people’s work for inspiration.

It can be difficult in the time compressed world of a photographer but seeing what other people are shooting and how is a great way to get the creative juices flowing again too. I can be in the worst most depressed state of mind about my own work but all it takes is one image of a remote forest that I know someone spent hours to hike to and make an image to get me out of the funk and out exploring and shooting again. Inspiration can come from many sources, Just be open to it!

4. When you don’t want to shoot you must push yourself to shoot.

Of course there are times when you know what? You just don’t want to get out there and work. I have been through this many times and the simplest way to combat it is to really push yourself to get out and work. Your really must turn those negative thoughts into positive ones. I always try to think about everything that I am missing by not getting out to work. Push yourself and you may be surprised by what you come up with.

5. Go somewhere you have never been to and explore.

While I do love going back to the same locations from time to time often what will jump-start my creativity is getting to places I have never been too and scouting and exploring for images to make. Part of the fun for me is to find a new location and try to make the most out of every opportunity that presents itself. Looking at the same scene all of the time is a lot like eating the same food everyday..It’s boring. Be a modern-day explorer and see what you have been missing.

6. try a new discipline of photography.

I can be honest and say that sometimes I get bored shooting landscapes all of the time. Change what you are shooting and you change how you think about your work as a whole. It’s exciting to shoot a portrait or to get out and do some urban exploration. Remember that variety is the spice of life and changing what you shoot can go a long way to getting the creativity flowing again. You don’t want to limit yourself or your options.

7. Explore different angles and perspectives.

This may sound a little weird but recently I have been re watching the old 1959 Twilight zone series by the master Rod Serling. I have seen them all before but this time I have been paying attention to how masterfully that these episodes were shot.

No straight lines, worms eye and birds eye views, and my particular favorite…the camera positions they used where people are really close up and large within the frame. It has really given me a new perspective on how to frame subjects and how to do it creatively for effect. I highly recommend watching an episode or two and you will see what I am taking about. As a landscape shooter I am always thinking about straight lines but I want to get out of that box.

8. Go back to your beginnings.

By this I mean ask yourself why you do what you do with photography, Why did you start shooting in the first place? Sometimes we can get lost in our day-to-day shooting activities and we can forget why we wanted to be artists in the first place. Remember where you started from and keep the goal of where you want to be firmly in your mind.

9. Pick a color/letter/word etc….and do a photography project on it.

This is one I am going to try myself soon. I have always loved red as a color and that is all I am using as my guide…The color red. I am not going to impose any rules on myself…I just want to see what images I can come up with. I think this can be a great way to unleash all of the bottled up creativity and just maybe by doing this can get you out of your current rut.

10. Ditch the social media/ internet for a while.

I know gasp! I dared to say it! I have a really hard time with this one but sometimes they can be quite a distraction. I mean what we really want to be doing is making images so shut off the computer and get out there! You are not a drone and I can wait for your next comment or Twitter update. Clear your head and the images will follow.

10 thoughts on “10 simple ways to get your creative “spark” back with your photography!

    • Thanks for the comment…I suppose it is a matter of trying to stay out of the box and think creatively about your images when you just don’t want to shoot.

Leave a Reply

