The Railyard


Canon 7d/ Canon 17-40mm F4 L series lens. UV filter. Induro at-113 tripod and bhd-1 ballhead. 9 image HDR capture processed in Lightroom 3, Photomatix Pro 4 and Focal Point 2.

In my efforts to stay busy with my photography work during all of the terrible weather we have been having I made a stop to our local rail yard several weeks back. It is small by comparison to other cities but it is only about five minutes from where I live so an easy location to get to. I like exploring here because I always seem to find something new to shoot.

This day like so many others this spring was overcast with the possibility of rain and I was a little worried about getting an image when I came across this jumble of steel and old oil tanks sitting next to a railcar. I thought it would have made a cool shot with a til-shift lens however I tried my best without the benefits of having one. I had to get fairly close to the ground and while I was composing the shoot all of the clouds in the top of the image rolled into the scene…I think they added to the dreariness of a typical rail yard image.

15 thoughts on “The Railyard

Leave a Reply

