Portrait Shoot: Dana


Canon 7d/Canon 50mm F1.8. UV filter. ISO 100, 50mm, F4 @ 1/320.

This past weekend I did another photo shoot…This time with the lovely and talented Dana. Dana is one of my  twitter pals from here in Vermont and accepted my call a few weeks ago to volunteer to sit for me and my camera. Dana is known on twitter as @missmagpieFGS and if you have kids or are looking for family friendly fun here in Vermont you can check out her website here!

The shoot went well however I felt like it was incomplete as I wanted to do some shooting outdoors but yet again the weather here would not cooperate. I am a big fan of doing portraits with as little gear as possible so the sitter doesn’t have tons of gear shoved in their face but also so I can move around and be free with my movements.

The following gear was used to make these images: Canon 430 ex 2 speed light set to manual and full power, One light stand with a flash and umbrella adapter, One shoot through umbrella with half of it flagged to prevent light spill on the background, A 16 foot off camera shoe cord and a sto-fen diffuser on the flash head. My only complaint for this shoot was the flagging of the umbrella. I have never tried this type of flagging before and what I did not like was the catch light in the eyes.  The light was good but the shape of the catch light was kind of funky.

That why they call it practice. I really do like doing portraits and am committed to getting better. I try different methods and techniques each time out and analyze the things I did wrong to keep improving. I hope you all enjoy the images and please let me know what you think!

Canon 7d/Canon 50mm F1.8 lens. UV filter.

Canon 7d/Canon 50mm F1.8 lens. UV filter.

Canon 7d/Canon 50mm F1.8 lens. UV filter.

Canon 7d/Canon 50mm F1.8 lens. UV filter.

Canon 7d/Canon 50mm F1.8 lens. UV filter.

14 thoughts on “Portrait Shoot: Dana

  1. I’ve never tried flagging my umbrella but I can see what you mean about the catch light. I like the shots with the hat and how you were able to keep the lighting even across Dana’s face without it casting a noticeable shadow. Very nice work my friend!!

  2. Nicely done! I’ve never tried flagging an umbrella either… I would typically just move the subject away from the background so that the light wouldn’t make it to the background… interesting.

  3. Great portrait work man. I really like how much contrast there is throughout the series of images. Sorry to hear the rain cancelled some of your outdoor plans.

Leave a Reply

