Smooth Rock


Canon 7d/ Canon 17-40mm F4 L series lens. UV filter. Lee Big Stopper 10 stop neutral density filter and a Cokin "Z" pro filter holder. Induro at-113 tripod and bhd-1 ballhead. Processed in Lightroom 3, Nik Silver Efex Pro and Focal Point 2. ISO 200, 17mm, F 11 @ 15 minutes (962 seconds). Preston Brook. Bolton, Vermont.

Today’s image was a bit of an experiment as I wanted to see the results of a really long exposure. Preston Brook runs down to the base of Camels Hump and is a neat little waterfall to hike along. The rocks here are quite smooth around the falls and pools with the exception of the larger boulders scattered throughout the area. On this day I was hiking along the brook here and came across this composition and I wondered what would be the result of a long exposure.

The conditions were quite dark and the calculated exposure came out to 15 minutes so I said “What the hell”, I will  give this one a shot! I liked everything about this one however when viewed at 100% you can see these weird pixels that to me seemed like no information was recorded there. This effect was only in the darks and it seemed like a limitation of the Lee Big Stopper.

I do love the creative effects of the Big Stopper but I think in the future I will stick to much shorter exposure times. It is one a the really great things about what we do…Experimentation. Without these experiments I think for myself I can become complacent with the images that I make. Let me know what you think of this one!

Leave a Reply

