City Hall


Canon 7d/ Canon 17-40mm F4 L series lens. UV filter. Induro at-113 tripod and bhd-1 ballhead. 7 image HDR capture processed in Lightroom 3, Photomatix Pro 4 and Nik Silver Efex Pro.

In the past few months I have really become excited about all of the great architecture around Burlington. I have started to shoot more and more of it when in the past I never thought I would have any interest. I feel like a goof for not shooting all of the fantastic buildings around here.  All of the flooding this year really put a damper on making images for the beginning of the Summer and I really want to think outside of the box and make the most of my photography time.

This image is of our fair city hall which sits right next to our famous Church Street and City hall park. I was out at night-time scouting possible shots when I saw this image. The only possible way to shoot this particular image was to get into the small flowerbed right in front of the building. (Sorry City of Burlington..I was careful not to damage any flowers!)

This image was headed to the trash bin when I though better of it and processed it in Silver Efex Pro. One either side of the stairs here are these two giant street lamps…Impossible to shoot the image without some lens flare. When I processed the image however and added a red filter to it the flare was reduced to a point that I did not object to it..In fact you can hardly see it at all!

2 thoughts on “City Hall

Leave a Reply

