The Serpent


Long exposure of driftwood on Lake Champlain. Image taken in Oakledge Park in Burlington, Vermont just after sunrise.

Feeling in a less than stellar mood on Sunday morning about my photography work I got up early and headed down the street from my house to shoot some long exposures. This park is fairly popular and right on the bike path which winds it’s around the edge of the lake and out into neighboring towns. I happened to be here the night before with Alison and as we were walking along the path I spied two potential photo ops for some long exposure work.

It was a little tough to get out of bed at five but I managed to get to this beach in time to make six exposures before the sun rose to high in the sky. Any of you who follow this blog regularly know that we have had some extensive flooding on Lake Champlain and only in the past three to four weeks have we been able to enjoy the waterfront. This piece of driftwood was sticking out into the water and it looked just like a snake or if anyone is familiar with Vermont folk tales our beloved “Champ”, Similar to “Nessie” the Loch Ness monster.

Many people have claimed to have seen Champ in the waters of the Lake and in fact has been featured on a few History Channel monster shows. I think the last time someone “saw” Champ was in the late 70’s to early 80’s, Nothing recent. This driftwood reminded me of our dear Champ. Luckily I also was blessed with a bank of slow-moving clouds directly in my compositions and I took advantage of them! They only lasted for the six frames I shot and this one had a good mix of static and moving elements. I am not sure what the original purpose of the structure is out in the water in the distance but I am pretty positive that it is used now as a weather station.

Image Data: ISO 100, 17mm, F11 @ 200 seconds. Canon 7d/Canon 17-40mm F4 L series lens. B+W UV filter. Lee Big Stopper 10 stop neutral density filter and a Cokin Z pro 2 stop graduated neutral density filter. Induro tripod and ballhead.

14 thoughts on “The Serpent

Leave a Reply

