Just passing Though


Sunrise and passing storm clouds at Oakledge Park beach in Burlington, Vermont on Lake Champlain.

Like many of the areas on the East Coast Vermont was no stranger to the high heat and humidity last week. Looking for some relief yesterday morning I got up at sunrise to do some photography and as I looked out the window I saw some pretty unimpressive clouds. Looking for some cooler air I headed out anyways to this beach which is about five minutes away from my house. Oakledge is really close and does have a few photo ops if your willing to look in all corners of the park.

I was quite surprised when I got there to find a nice breeze coming off of the lake provided by a storm system that was making its way through the area. Twenty degrees cooler makes for one happy photographer! In the image above you can see the back edge of the system moving through in the upper corner. Nice colors were present in the sky but I was not impressed with my compositions here. I was a little underwhelmed by the shots I did make and I am adding another image here that went into the not-quite-up-to-standards-pile.

Rock and lighthouse at Oakledge Beach in Burlington, Vermont on Lake Champlain.

I id like the composition here only the image was slightly flawed. It was very dark at this stage of the sunrise so I had to crank up the ISO to 400 which is something I never do when using the ten stop Lee Big Stopper. The exposure times would have been over 15 minutes so after I raised the ISO I came out with grainy images. No surprise there but I decided to see if I couldn’t salvage this one by converting to b+w, adding dome film grain, A vignette and a hint of orange to the image. Something about the lighthouse being lined up with the rock appealed to me. About an hour after I made this image the skies were clear and we had a very nice day!

13 thoughts on “Just passing Though

  1. I really like both of these Andy! The toning and placement of the rocks in the first image are fantastic. I agree with you about the composition on the second image, I like how the lighthouse and the foreground rock line up and it has an old-school film look too it. Nice ones today!

  2. I like both of these, but I think the 2nd one wins. Lots of time grain, even at high ISO can help an image. It can also detract which is obvious. I think that one works with it. And really it’s kinda hard to see throughout the frame unless you look towards the bottom left.

    Nice shots.

Leave a Reply

