Fury


Passing storm clouds over the Adirondacks on the New York side of Lake Champlain from Burlington, Vermont.

This storm is one of the reasons why photographers should never say that there isn’t anything to photograph or the weather looks bad! Yesterday I had the intention of scouting out some new areas but rain was threatening all day and of course I got held up doing other errands. I ended up having some time towards the late afternoon and I had been watching these clouds develop for a few hours at that point.

Needless to say but I had become bored so I quickly grabbed my gear and headed down to the lake to take some images. I made several long exposures when all of a sudden the wind started to pick up quite strongly and the tourists scattered away leaving me all alone. There was no rain so I decided to keep shooting but the extremely strong wind made the long exposures impossible. I switched to faster shutter speeds and had my camera on my tripod as it was more me that needed the stabilizing than my camera because of the wind.

I had a good half hour of these really intense clouds and wind but knowing that these conditions don’t happen all that often here kept me snapping away. The clouds were great because these neat rays of light were breaking through the clouds all over the place adding some real interest to the images. I found out later that night that a tornado had touched down over in New York with this unsettled weather pattern…Yikes!

Image Data: Canon 7d/ Canon 17-40mm F4 L series lens. UV Filter. Induro tripod and ballhead. ISO 100, 26mm, F11 @ 1/60

12 thoughts on “Fury

Leave a Reply

