Elements of nature


Wind blown grasses and rock looking over sunrise on Lake Champlain with moving clouds. Oakledge Park. Burlington, Vermont.

One of the things I enjoy most is scouting out and using elements for photo compositions right in my own backyard. There are times when I don’t feel the need or have the desire to drive for hours on end and hike three miles to get to a photo destination. I love exploring the city I live in and finding all of its hidden jewels from landscapes down to this simple composition of grass swaying in the breeze. It is amazing what you can find if you open your eyes and really look around.

I made this image on a stretch of the lake at Oakledge Park which is really tough to shoot and not very interesting. I was walking along the rocks here at sunrise and I noticed these hearty grasses growing right out of cracks in the rocks all over the place here. I wanted to capture the movement of the grass swaying in the breeze as well as the movement of the clouds streaking across the frame. The composition itself was very simple but I wanted the grasses to be front and center in the lower portion of the frame.

The image was difficult to get as I had to set my tripod very low to the ground and contort my body into a crazy angle just to look through the viewfinder.I wasn’t fond of this image at first when I made it a few weeks ago but I have been looking at it periodically and it is growing on me every time I do. I have been shooting with the ten stop filter quite extensively this summer and I am always looking for new ways to put it to use. Capturing all of these moving elements with static ones is a challenge but with practice is becoming more rewarding.

Image Data: ISO 100. 17mm. F11 @ 211 seconds. Lee Big Stopper 10 stop neutral density filter and a Cokin Z pro two stop graduated neutral density filter.

12 thoughts on “Elements of nature

  1. Funny how a shot can grow on you after a while. I love all of the motion in it but how then you notice that the two ships seem to have sat completely still for the duration of the shot. Excellent Andy!

Leave a Reply

