Joker in the crowd


Barge poles with boats and the Burlington breakwater. Lake Champlain. Burlington, Vermont.

I made this image several weeks ago while roaming around the waterfront looking for photo ops at..yes you guessed it…Sunrise! This is the best pier formation I have found so far and I really love this grouping. I think it is a nice focal point for the boats beyond however I think a better shot would be in the Fall when the boats are gone and the view of New York is unobstructed.

These barge poles can be tricky in a long exposure like this because even the tiniest amount of water movement will be transmitted to the poles. The poles themselves had a very small amount of blur because they were slightly swaying with the water..If you look in the background you can see that one of the poles has a double! I called him the joker because it was almost like he was mocking me saying ” Sorry kid you’re not getting a tack sharp image today!”

I chose a blue filter in Nik Silver Efex Pro so that the poles would be highlighted instead of the clouds and boats. I wanted them to stand out against everything else and be the star of the show!

Image Data: ISO 100. Lens set to 32mm. F11 @ 190 seconds. UV filter and a Lee Big Stopper 10 stop neutral density filter.

 

10 thoughts on “Joker in the crowd

Leave a Reply

