Mountains of Mars


Long exposure of a channel of water between rocks. Oakledge Park. Burlington, Vermont.

It’s funny how you go back to the same spots from time to time and you can see how they change over time. Oakledge Park is about five minutes away from where I live and at first glance isn’t that impressive but I have come to be quite knowledgable about its photo potential over the past several months. Along the shores of Lake Champlain in the area are these gorgeous rocks with a really neat pinkish color to them. As the lake floods and then recedes over the course of the year different shapes and openings appear in the rocks at this park.

Last week we had lots of rain move into the area which cut down on my shooting time but I paid attention to the weather patterns and rushed down to this park when the rain let up just a bit. I was searching along the shore for a new image to make when I spotted this channel in between the rocks here. With the gloomy clouds I saw a chance for an interesting long exposure image. The channel reminded me of the rocky landscape on Mars with some low and spooky clouds in the distance. What you can’t see because of the long exposure is that it is raining pretty good and my camera has a quick garbage bag rain cover on it! I had just enough time to get a few shots before the rain really started to come down.

Image Data: ISO 100. 27mm. F11 @ 213 seconds. UV filter and a Lee Big Stopper.

20 thoughts on “Mountains of Mars

Leave a Reply

