Around the world with a disposable camera! A twitter photo project.


Lately I have been in a photo funk of sorts…It happens every year in September before the Fall foliage season starts. Today I was in the bookstore randomly looking at photo books when I picked up a book of crafty photo projects. I adopted this idea for myself and I thought it would be a fun way to connect with all of my Twitter photography friends better. I don’t want to keep you all in suspense so here is the photo project…

I am going to go to the store and buy one of those disposable…el cheapo cameras and pick a theme for everyone to shoot. The theme can be interpreted in any way you see fit and the idea is to shot from the hip and not think too much about it but to be as creative as you can…And you only get one frame to shoot on the camera. I believe there are 24 to 30 something frames on those disposable cameras so I wanted to build a list of 30 or so photographers who would be interested in doing this who are on Twitter, Follow me (@photoronin) or that are followed by me.

Once the list is created then I would shoot the first frame according to the theme and send it to the next person on the list. That person would take his or her image however they want according to the theme and then send it to the next person on the list. The last person on the list will shoot the last frame on the camera and then send it back to me. I will get the camera developed and share the resulting images here on my blog! If we can’t get enough photographers for one frame each then I wouldn’t have any problem with the camera being sent to a random photographer that you follow who would want to do this.

I thought that this would be an interesting way to connect with some of my fellow photographers on Twitter because you are more than just 140 characters to me. If you want to participate leave me a comment on this blog post with your Twitter handle and I will contact each person to build an address/ contact list for the project! I will ship with the camera a small notebook so we can keep track of who shot which frame.

30 thoughts on “Around the world with a disposable camera! A twitter photo project.

  1. Just unclear about one thing so we take a shot only one using the same camera the photog before used. but we just take a pic of w/e we want? or does it have to be similar to the previous frame?

  2. Andy, count me in. Sounds like a great project, and just what may be needed to change that ‘funk’. @brianarsenault on Twitter…

  3. Hey, looking forward to seeing the list, even as it grows. Looking forward to the theme too.

    I’ll make this suggestion too: as we mail this camera, I suggest the next destination we have to send it to be the nearest possible one, rather than having it go from, say, Vermont to California to New Hampshire to Texas to Alaska to Florida, etc. Just my two cents. I’ll participate, regardless.

Leave a Reply

