The Stump


Tree stump with Autumn foliage and reflection in a stream. Underhill, Vermont

What a difference a day makes! At the time when  this image was made I was really feeling that all of the photography work that I have done so far during this foliage season was not quite what I had hoped for. I really had a blast making this image and it turned my thinking around to more positive thoughts. This location is in the Underhill, Vermont area around Mount Mansfield and is well off the beaten path!

I had done some scouting here a few months ago but this time around I went on a little adventure and followed the small stream that is in the image here. This is one of those shots that would have been impossible without doing HDR brackets or in this case with some off camera flash. While the background was nicely lit the foreground and stump were almost black! I felt like the composition was strong and I did not want to leave without making a quality image here so I broke out my speedlight and really long shoe cord.

I am really not a huge fan of shooting images like this in HDR and I wanted the stump to have some subtle illumination and to help bring it up to more closely match the background. I exposed for the background and set my speedlight to manual and forgive me here because I did not write it down but I believe I set it at 1/2 power. The flash helped to balance out the image without overpowering it or making it look fake.

Image Data: ISO 100. 17mm. F11 @ 1/6. Canon 430 ex 2 speedlight and a 16 foot off camera shoe cord. Cokin circular polarizer and two stop graduated neutral density filter.

16 thoughts on “The Stump

  1. That’s what Autumn really should like – background colors are perfect and the foreground provides the depth. The ferns around the stump contribute another texture. Worth the effort definitely.

Leave a Reply

