The Greys


A long exposure of old barge poles with clouds on Lake Champlain. Burlington, Vermont

I have been itching to get back to this spot on the waterfront for about six months now as I really was not happy with my first attempts at this location. In the Summer there are boats moored in the background which spoils the view somewhat on top of this being a difficult location to shoot.

The poles are right next to a small point of land which has been built up with huge boulders and getting a good shooting position here means waiting for just the right water levels. The camera is positioned with tripod on some very awkward and lets just say “not flat and comfortable” rocks. I did however manage to get the composition that I was looking for with some nice storm clouds racing overhead.

I decided to leave this one as a color image as I really liked the contrast in tones between the poles and the rest of the image. A black and white conversion just did not have the contrast that I was hoping for here.

Please contact me directly at agimino@gmail.com to purchase prints! You can view my print prices here!

Image Data: ISO 100. 17mm. F11 @ 201 seconds. UV filter and a Lee Big Stopper 10 stop neutral density filter.

12 thoughts on “The Greys

Leave a Reply

