Why Did I Shoot That? 5/7/2011


Flooding in the Echo Center parking lot on the Burlington waterfront. Waaaay back where the flag pole is in the distance is the actual shoreline of the lake! Here the water is about 7 to 10 feet above normal levels.

Image Data: ISO 100. 40mm. F11 @ 70 seconds. Lee Big Stopper neutral density filter.

Today I have two images from May which I had fully intended to post but I held on to them for quite sometime and in the end I decided that I just did not like them enough to post. As documentary pieces on the epic flooding we had this year they would be just fine but I wasn’t really happy with the compositions in either image or the shooting conditions of the day when I made them. Really grey and dull light with nearly shapeless clouds just did not offer up any interesting light and the sheer amount of water here made getting better compositions difficult.

These two images are from the parking lot behind the Echo Center which is a science center and aquarium with exhibits all about Lake Champlain. This entire area of the waterfront and most of the shoreline along the Lake were flooded like this well into June which is very unusual. The damage that all of this flooding is still evident today along the shoreline and was quite extensive all along the length of the lake. The second image below is of the parking attendants booth for this parking area and it is under water as well!

Parking attendant booth for the Echo Center.

Image Data: ISO 100. 26mm. F11 @ 81 seconds. Lee Big Stopper neutral density filter.

14 thoughts on “Why Did I Shoot That? 5/7/2011

    • Thanks Chris…For real! It ruined a lot of otherwise nice shots this spring. Seriously I did not even really get into the area until june when the water levels returned to normal.

  1. I think I can see a great image in that first shot. Here’s a suggestion: I would crop out the Lt third – up to the end of the wall and the crane. That leaves a rather square image, but you can stretch it in Photoshop to get back to a 3:2 sized image (and I don’t think the elements are spoilt by that). And finally I would use curves to increase the contrast and either levels or exposure to get some real highlights. I think then you will have a first class image of strong lines – essentially a repetitive pattern shot. I think this idea for a post – we all have images that we struggle with – is bold and imaginative. Maybe more of us should try it. Hope these comments are OK with you

    • Thanks so much for the kind words Andy! I am always open to ideas and suggestions and I am glad you like that feature on my blog. It’s great as a learning tool but also a way to breath new life into images that I like but may not be up to my standards to post for a daily image. The day that I made those images was just terrible light. really dark and grey with shapeless clouds. They were also my first long exposure images with the Lee Big Stopper and with the water being where it was made composing difficult. I liked the images but I felt they did not have much “pop” to them.

    • Thanks Edith…People really seem to like that first image! I suppose I should have spent a little more time and fined tuned that composition I may have had a winner there!

  2. I have to agree with some of the other comments, I really like that first image. There may be some elements that are a bit distracting, but I really like the trees, the smooth water and the reflections. The placement of the trees is great and produces some very pleasing lines. The reflections a really working for me. The dark tones in the trees make for very pleasing contrast with the lighter background. For me, I’m not crazy about the big, dark structure on the back left (ship? pier?), but you can’t move the whole scene, can you? I think the dull light really suits the image, especially in black and white.

    • No…It was like a few hundred feet back from the lake itself…and that was all up and down the length of the lake. Our entire waterfront area was flooded until mid June and the damage was quite extensive.

  3. through your photos you show us clearly that the nature controls us and not vice versa…….and that’s a good thing.an impressive work that stimulates the thinking about ourselves and our environment. xo sharon

Leave a Reply

