2011 By The Numbers


View of Smugglers Notch, Mount Mansfield and Stowe beyond from the valley floor. Smugglers Notch, Vermont

First I would like to personally thank everyone for taking the time to stop by and check out my blog. It is a labor of love as well as a way to get the word out about my photography and I want you all to know how much I appreciate you stopping by and commenting. It can be a struggle to find your place in a crowded room and your comments and kind words keep me motivated every step of the way. Without all of the awesome support I get from my family, friends, blog viewers, Twitter tweeps, Facebook pals and G+’ers I am not sure I would still be continuing to shoot.  I truly love where I live and can’t wait to keep showing you Vermont! *I am a little long-winded here but my blog by the numbers for 2011 is somewhere below!

I am a bit late with a quick review of how my blog performed in 2011 and please forgive me but December was a hectic month. With the holidays, work, attending two funerals for family members, making images, searching for snow and planning out 2012, Things just got a little busy. Before I get into the blog numbers I wanted to share the most recent Winter image I made last week. I headed up into Smugglers Notch and yes indeed I did find some “snow.”

We have not had much snow so far and it’s been quite the struggle…However I am making the most of what I have to work with. In this image you can see about a foot of heavy, wet snow covering most of what is an active beaver pond at the base of Mount Mansfield. I had to be really careful here as the snow is deceptive and at any moment you can break through and sink down to your waist in mucky, beaver pond water. In fact to frame this old tree stump and water opening here I had to lay in a prone position with my chest in water!

I wanted a more unique view of the notch and the mountains beyond but with a little cloud cover to add some interest. I zeroed in on the small channel of water because I felt it really led you into the image and everything beyond. I lit the tree and foreground with some off camera flash gently just to give it a tiny bit of separation from everything else.

Image Data: ISO 200. 17mm. F11 @ 1/125. Shot on a tripod sitting in mucky snow. Canon 430 ex 2 speedlight with a 16 foot off camera shoe cord

Visualstate by the numbers for 2011:

Blog viewed 32,000 times

221 posts, 445 images uploaded

Busiest day was on September 9, 2011 with 675 views for this post!

Where my views come from by region:

84.4% United states

15.1% Canada

36.8% Brazil

79.8% South Africa

42.5% Europe

85.4% Australia

23.5% India

Top 5 posts:

1. Click on the link above for #1

2. A beginner’s guide to ISO

3. Six steps to keep your photography from getting stale and boring  

4. Ten steps for breaking out of the beginners rut and getting better images

5. Image Out Of The Mist


4 thoughts on “2011 By The Numbers

Leave a Reply

