Slow Man Winter


 

   Long exposure of Lake Champlain and driftwood at North Beach in Burlington, Vermont

I shot today’s image back in November and usually at this time of year it’s cold and we have some snow on the ground. However as my clever title for this image would suggest, Winter has been slow to come to the Champlain Valley this year. When I made this shot it was cool out but still quite warm for the time of year here. I was out for the day experimenting with shooting a series of images that I could use to focus stack in Photoshop when I came across this interesting piece of driftwood.

I knew that focus stacking this shot would be very difficult with the clouds and the water but I pulled this image out of the series as it had good sharpness from the front to the back. The zigzagging lines and the driftwood pointing to the point of land in the distance really caught my eye. I love these beaches in the Winter here because they are desolate and devoid of any people. I couldn’t think of a better time to shoot with no distractions and in fact I was the only person on the beach that day. North beach is one of the largest beaches in Burlington, Spanning quite a distance from end to end.

Image Data: ISO 100. 17mm. F11 @ 150 seconds. UV filter and a Lee Big Stopper.

14 thoughts on “Slow Man Winter

Leave a Reply

