Trail Of Tears


Long exposure of ice-covered rocks and clouds. Oakledge Park. Burlington, Vermont

Just when you thought we were going to have actual cold around here the cruel mistress that is Winter snatches it away from us and warms everything up to 40 degrees dashing any hope of seeing snow..at least where I live in the Champlain Valley. I am finding solace in the fact that at the very least I can still find some nice ice formations along the lake where the waves throw water onto the shoreline.

I found this composition about 20 minutes after sunrise and this opening in the ice showing the rock beneath…I spied it up ahead from where I was walking and I knew I had my shot for the day. My intention was to show just the rock with ice and the clouds streaking above but I thought better of it when composing and included just a tiny piece of the background to give the image a sense of place and depth. Off in the distance is the New York side of Lake Champlain and the Adirondack Mountains.

The ice in the foreground reminded me of a stream of tears someone may cry for our non existent Winter here hence the title to today’s image. I am going to have to go a little further afield to find some icy conditions…Not much fresh snow in the mountains and most of the good ice is in the more protected bays and inlets along the lake. I still made an effort and mother nature threw me a bone with a nice composition and some swift moving clouds!

Image Data: ISO 100. 17mm. F11 @ 200 seconds.

7 thoughts on “Trail Of Tears

  1. Love the shot Andrew. I know what a drag it is to have weather that just doesn’t seem to cooperate. Oh well… You made the most of it! Love the framing on the shot.

Leave a Reply

