Morning Glory


Sunrise at Oakledge Park in Burlington, Vermont.

I just barely had enough time to set up and shoot four images of this scene before the awesome color on the horizon disappeared. This section of beach is in a unique position as it it sits at lake level at the bottom of a small hill at this city park. The sun rises from behind the camera position and has to clear the hill and some trees to really light up this beach. Because of this even as the sun rises you get an extra few seconds of color and the foreground sections of rock are still covered in shade giving compositions here nice contrast. I must admit I got up a little later than I normally would to shoot a sunrise which is why I had to work quickly here. You can also see that there isn’t much ice so I had to make due with the simple foreground but I think it worked out in the end.

I have been posting a ton of black and white images lately and I suppose this is do to the poor Winter we have had along with a few weeks of less than stellar photography work. I thought today we could all use some color to brighten the spirits and get myself out of this Winter funk.

Image Data: ISO 100. 17mm. F22 @ 4 seconds.

8 thoughts on “Morning Glory

  1. […] Morning Glory – Andy Gimino captures a sunrise shot that is so rich and full of vivid colors it’s guaranteed to take your breath away.  The beautiful tones gently produce a gradient effect in this landscape composition, creating an epic shot that will absolutely delight and amaze everyone. […]

Leave a Reply

