Cracked Earth


Cracks in rock and Lake Champlain. Burlington, Vermont.

I had to double back and make an image here when I came across this pretty neat crack in the rocks sticking out into the lake! The skies were just terrible on the day I made this image but I worked to minimize the sky as much as I could and have lots of foreground in the image. We don’t always get the skies or conditions that we would like and your only choices are to pack it in and go home or to use your creative brain and make something out of nothing. Here I chose to stick with it…This is an uncomfortable shooting position as the rock here slopes slightly upwards and I had to sit on some pretty rough rock!

This frame worked for me because the crack splits up the frame and the edges of the rock formations are not straight with the horizon line. Shooting the crack straight on would have made for a busy frame with some obstructions to either side so I opted to shoot it at an angle. Images like this are little reminders to me that you should always go out and shoot no matter what the weather because you never know what you’re going to find. The clouds here were part of a storm system which finally brought a little snow our way but it was difficult to get a set with some detail.

Image Data: ISO 100. 17mm. F16 @ 1.3 seconds.

8 thoughts on “Cracked Earth

Leave a Reply

