Rock face


Rock Face and clouds in a long exposure at Oakledge Park in Burlington, Vermont.

I went with a minimalistic approach to today’s image as I was really liking the rock face here but the surrounding rocks just did not add much to the image. It took me a few minutes to frame this one as the camera position is in a small nook of rock which made setting up the camera and composing difficult but I came up with something I was very happy with. I had gone hiking on this day up in the mountains and wouldn’t you know it but as I was setting up for a shot the clouds opened up and poured rain on me! I made my way back into town and the rain stopped long enough for me to get this image.

I would have posted this one a bit sooner but it needed some correction for reflections in the image. One of the downfalls of shooting long exposures with 10 stop filters is that they must be seated correctly in the filter holder otherwise you get funky reflections in your images. It happens to me from time to time and this one had some very slight reflections in the clouds that were difficult to remove. I did not want to delete this one so I let it sit for a week and then came back and finished up the corrections. I think I am going to diy a small slip cover to avoid this issue in the future!

Image Data: ISO 100. 17mm. F16 @ 135 seconds. Lee Big Stopper 10 stop neutral density filter.

7 thoughts on “Rock face

Leave a Reply

