Abandon


Abandoned rock quarry in Burlington, Vermont.

A few weeks ago a friend who lives nearby told me about this old quarry which is right in downtown Burlington just a short 10 minute walk from my house. I couldn’t let something like this go unexplored….Vermont is full of these old quarry’s however most are at least an hour away. This one was within walking distance so I grabbed my gear and my wife and I walked over to check it out. The quarry itself is up a hill which overlooks Lake Champlain and it’s in a small residential neighborhood…How cool is that! I had no idea a small piece of Burlington’s history was so close to my house.

The red stone from this quarry which is found over the area here and all the way down to the lake was used in the construction of the Redstone campus at the University of Vermont. This particular campus is a short, 10 minute walk from my house and I pass by it on my way to work when I do walk. UVM is the biggest college around here with a sprawling campus around Burlington. Even though the entire quarry is surrounded by homes I thought it was neat that it was a small little park right in my town.

Image Data: ISO 100. 21mm. F11 @ 1/4. UV filter and a Cokin P series circular polarizer.

7 thoughts on “Abandon

Leave a Reply

