School Of Fish


Rocks and waterfall on the Browns River in Underhill, Vermont.

Today’s image is one of the few that I was able to take while I had the rented 5d mark II a few weeks ago. I was only able to get out for a few hours with it before I had to send it back but I managed to get a few decent shots with it. I have been spending a lot of time on this river lately as the forest is really coming along with all of the wet weather we have been having. The green color is really coming out now and this particular river has ample photo ops along it.

While I was processing this image I couldn’t help but notice that this grouping of rocks in the foreground looks exactly like a school of fish playing or feeding on the surface of the water. I was drawn in to all of the interesting shapes here and to give a sense of place I added in a bit of the background. This is a blended image of two shots for focus and this one was quite a challenge to put together as some of the rocks sit in different planes of focus. In the end I was able to pull out two shots from the series I made that blended together nicely.

Image Data: ISO 100. 26mm. F11 @ 2.5 seconds. Cokin P series circular polarizer. I was able to use my p series gear however they are much too small on a full frame camera so I could not zoom out all the way to 17mm on my lens.

10 thoughts on “School Of Fish

Leave a Reply

