Green Fields


Three image HDR of Lake Champlain and the Champlain Valley from Mount Philo. Charlotte, Vermont.

Mount Philo is one of the most visited state parks in Vermont and the incredible view from the top is the reason why. Mount Philo is actually a very small mountain in comparison to Mount Mansfield and Camels Hump but with a 180 degree view of the Champlain Valley and being only 20 minutes from Burlington where I live make it a very popular attraction. Sadly on this day I was here for a Chef that I have worked for in the past as his wife passed away this year. He was having a small memorial gathering and I was helping with preparing and cooking the food. I did bring my camera gear with me but was skunked the whole day with bright sun and no clouds.

To my surprise towards nightfall a storm system moved in to the area and I had a very short window in which to shoot as the rain was coming very quickly. I normally would not have shot a HDR image here but I was really pressed for time with the approaching storm and I couldn’t spend too much time hunting around for a correct exposure. The vast differences between the sky, land and the sun breaking through the clouds made for a challenging exposure situation.

The view here shows the southern section of Lake Champlain with the Adirondacks and New York visible on the other side. With the small height of the mountain and the short distance to the lake, Even at 17mm and viewed at 100% the details in this image are crisp and sharp. I was quite surprised to be able to make out individual houses, roads and trees in the image. This location is perfect for panoramic shots as there are a couple of different spots at the top in which to shoot from…It’s probably a safe bet that I will be returning at some point soon to attempt one!

Image Data: Three image HDR capture at +/- 1 stop. UV filter and a Cokin P series circular polarizer.

7 thoughts on “Green Fields

Leave a Reply

