Emerald In The Forest


Moss, Rocks and waterfall off of Stevensville Brook in Underhill, Vermont.

It’s amazing the small jewels you can find while out hiking, Especially the more intimate details in the landscape. Here it can be a challenge to find the grand, sweeping landscape and if that was all I tried t shoot then I would miss scenes like this! As you hike along this brook there are a few streams that feed into it at various locations, Nothing huge but worth stopping to take a look. The days where it is wet and rainy add saturation to the explosion of green happening here on the floor of these woods.

This small waterfall is only about knee-high and it flows down to the camera position and over another ledge and into Stevensville Brook. To shoot this I had to stand in the waterfall getting soaked and set up my gear over the opening in the rocks that you can see here. I loved the mosses ans small leaves here with their water drops leading you into what is beyond. I wanted the falls to be a bit off-center rather than centered in a straight line.

This is a three image composite I shot for focus throughout. Two images were for the moss and leaves on the side and one was for the falls in the background. One thing I always have to be aware of when shooting these composites is the various image planes and areas of focus in the image. You can have areas that are sharp as well as spots in the same area that are soft due to how the landscape can slope away from the camera.

Image Data: Three images shot at ISO 100. 17mm. F11 @ 4 seconds. UV filter and a Cokin P series circular polarizer.

8 thoughts on “Emerald In The Forest

  1. Andy, this is just fantastic buddy. Nice work all around. I really like the idea of bracketing for focus, but why wouldn’t you just make your aperture smaller?

    • Adam..Good question! I have done lots of test on my lens and camera body for sharpness and my gear is sharp up to F11. At f16 and above you actually start to lose sharpness. Every lens has a sweet spot for sharpness, most about f8. There will always be a point where you have perfect sharpness and then it starts to drop off…my range is F8 to F16 with my wide angle. Plus when working with extreme foreground images like some of the ones I have done using hyperfocal techniques or a smaller aperture wont work..By focusing on something in the immediate foreground you are throwing everything else out of focus no matter what you do. I want the foregrounds to be “in your face” so to speak but I also want the backgrounds to be sharp.

Leave a Reply

