Quiet Interlude


Red maple leaf attached to a rock by a waterfall in Underhill, Vermont.

While I still have several images from this Summer to post I thought I would take a break and offer up one of my first shots of Autumn that has begun here in Vermont! The Fall is a special time here and one that I have to take advantage of every spare minute I have to shoot images. It changes from year to year but on average we get about two solid weeks of really good foliage color but when you subtract the days I have to work it really comes down to maybe 5 or 6 shooting days. The color is really coming in now so you will have to excuse my absence from this blog at times while I am out shooting!

I shot the above image while hiking a stream around Mount Mansfield and I really liked its minimalistic qualities. Very simple shot here, No fancy tricks or focus staking, Just a small, red Maple leaf hugging this rock. I loved the coloring on the leaf and it contrasted nicely to the rock here along with the blurred motion of the water from a slow shutter speed. I was a little underwhelmed by my Fall images last year as I was just beginning to get into really big foregrounds and my focus stacking work. I am looking to improve upon my work and hopefully you all will enjoy the Fall here as well through my images over the coming weeks!

Image Data: ISO 400. 35mm. F11 @ 8 seconds. Cokin P series circular polarizer.

 

4 thoughts on “Quiet Interlude

Leave a Reply

