A Perfect Confluence


Old barge poles in Lake Champlain on the Burlington, Vermont waterfront.

* A print of this image is always available here!

I am taking a little break from my Autumn images today with one that I shot from this Summer. Every once in a while I take a break from the rigors of hiking in the mountains to do some shooting along the shores of Lake Champlain here in Burlington. There are many photo ops to be had and there are several groupings of these old and rather large barge poles along the shoreline. Some are easier to shoot than others but they are a reminder of days gone by and the industrial activity that took place along the lake.

This image location is one that I have shot before but this time around I really wanted to compose this in a unique way. The lake levels have been close to ten feet below normal making the waterline much lower than usual. These poles are part of a larger grouping on a small spit of land sticking out into the lake. I was able to get an extremely low angle looking up at the poles and as I was shooting these storm clouds started coming across the lake.

I got lucky here as the sun was rising behind me and as some gorgeous sunrise light was striking these poles I got these darker storm clouds coming over the frame from the other direction. It was a great meeting of two very different natural elements and the sunlight really made the poles stand out in contrast to the stormy skies. I had not done any long exposure work in quite some time and it felt awesome to break out the Big Stopper to make this image!

Image Data: ISO 100. 17mm. F16 @ 45 seconds. Lee Big Stopper 10 stop neutral density filter.

9 thoughts on “A Perfect Confluence

  1. A simple composition yet full of such wonderful contrasts – the rigidity of the posts with their detailed grain and the smooth silky clouds. The monochrome treatment suits this image perfectly.

Leave a Reply

