My Lonely Slumber


Hay bales wrapped in plastic and stacked on top of each other. Groton, Vermont.

Hay bales are a pretty common site here in Vermont from the first cutting in the Spring and into the fall where they are wrapped in plastic for storage. From time to time we head up to Groton in the Northeast Kingdom where my wife’s family has a small dairy farm. It’s an hour and a half away from where we live but it gives us a chance to get away from Burlington for a bit and often I can find some time to make a few images around the farm. I love walking around to see what I can find for images and on this trip I found these huge stacks of hay bales.

At first glance you wouldn’t think the stacks would be very interesting but this is where pre visualization comes into play. As I was looking at the stacks of hay I had to see how they would look as a black and white image in my mind. The plastic covering on the hay was white and you wouldn’t think there would be any detail in these shapes but I pictured how this would look in black and white and I knew the processing would bring out the subtle texture and deep blacks that were present.

The shapes are what attracted me to this image in the first place as well as the Autumn leaves that were covering the bales. It really is amazing how something so simple can be transformed into a pleasing image as long as you have the vision to see it all the way through. I taught myself a lesson here while shooting this and that was to take any preconceived notions about what makes a good image and throw those out the window! Even ordinary, Everyday items like these hay bales have a story all their own and I am glad I didn’t just pass them by.

Image Data: ISO 100. 24mm. F11 @ 1/25. Cokin P series circular polarizer.

9 thoughts on “My Lonely Slumber

  1. A great lesson in pre-visualization, Andy. This close up showing just the textures and shapes of the hay bales with a nice contrast from the fallen leaves really works well.

Leave a Reply

