All Things Being Equal


Clouds over Lake Champlain with the Adirondack Mountains in the distance.

I have been trying to stay away from super wide-angle shots like this these days however when I was out shooting around the waterfront last week these clouds were just too good to pass up! The view here is of the Burlington breakwater with a small lighthouse and the Adirondack Mountains on the New York Side of the lake. The point of land in the lower right hand corner is part of the city of Burlington and it is where a thrust fault runs from the land and down under Lake Champlain.

Blue sky days can be a bit boring so I generally wait until we get a good stretch of days with some clouds and storm systems that often start in the mid west and move their way east until they come over this area. No storms or rain on this day but the clouds here were pretty impressive regardless.

On a side note you will notice that I have changed my image border and signature on my images. This came about over the past week or so as I have been learning how to digitize my signature so that I can add a more personal touch to my images. In some discussions with some photog friends online and my own thoughts on the subject, My watermark in the corner is was a bit distracting and this new image frame was my best, most minimal solution. I personally like a frame around my images but since any Photoshop person worth their salt can remove the watermark in a matter of minutes I did not feel that it was necessary to continue to put a watermark in the corner.

Some people felt it was killing my images and that it was distracting. My signature is more problematic as I have not managed one yet that is clean and won’t take me hours to fix in Photoshop. I do have a stylized on that I really like and once I can get it into the computer the way I like it then the basic font here will change to it…And the learning process continues!

Image Data: ISO 100. 17mm. f11 @ 1/60. Cokin P series circular polarizer.

4 thoughts on “All Things Being Equal

  1. Cool image Andy and one that works well in Black & White. I really like the border and sig, I used to border all my images but stopped for some reason I can’t remember, I think it was to do with submissions or something like that, but I guess that I could do a version with and without.

Leave a Reply

