Shattered Dream


A picture of my wife's eye with a dispersion and erosion effect. Image manipulated in Photoshop CS5 and Lightroom. Base image shot with a Canon 60mm and a Canon 430 ex II speedlight inside a Westcott Apollo softbox.

A picture of my wife’s eye with a dispersion and erosion effect. Image manipulated in Photoshop CS5 and Lightroom. Base image shot with a Canon 60mm macro lens and a Canon 430 ex II speedlight inside a Westcott Apollo softbox.

And so begins my journey down the path of photo manipulation with today’s image. I feel at times that rather than just recording images like my landscape work I would rather actually make a work of art from my photographs. I used to paint and draw quite a bit however with my photography work I am simply a bystander recording a moment. I have been drawn to abstract and surreal imagery most of my life and these manipulations are my attempt at exploring another side of my photography.

I am also using this type of work to better myself with Photoshop technique. My skills really need improving in this area and I am trying to come up with more images in the future which will expand on the techniques I used in this image. Without going into immense detail about how I put this image together it contains multiple layers, masks, layer effects, brushes and several images were used to get the base break apart effect which is visible where the spatter starts to leave the face.

As a side note this image is also an effort on my part to branch out a bit and learn a new skill set because of the dismal state of landscape photography these days. I could go on and on about this however I choose to be positive and continue in my efforts. In my wildest dreams I always wanted to be some kind of artist and possibly doing work of this type on a freelance basis is something I am considering for my photography business. While I love my landscape work it is just unrealistic to  build any kind of future on that work.

One thought on “Shattered Dream

Leave a Reply

