My Best images of 2012 from a Vermont Photographer


I don’t normally do these sort of posts but I suppose I felt the need to share the best of my work this year. 2012 was one of the those years with my work that saw some highs and some lows as well. One one hand I saw a dramatic improvement in my work overall and I learned some new techniques such as focus stacking and a ton of Photoshop image manipulation techniques. I did manage to get three images published in Vermont Life Magazine as well as doing several business photography jobs which is my specialty.

First off I would like to thank everyone who reads this blog, follows my work and interacts with me over the internet and social media. I could not do my work without your support and encouragement and I am eternally grateful for the friendship! It really has been fantastic being able to interact with everyone here in the States and all over the world. I enjoy looking at your work and seeing how you are progressing with your photography efforts. Thanks you, Thank you, Thank you!

The lows I experienced were more of a general feeling of despair at the photography industry in general and my hopes for achieving much of anything with my landscape work. Multiple rejection letters and I was told by a gallery that my work was the same as most other landscape work here in the area. Image sales of my landscape work are pitiful and all of this lead to a feeling of depression about my future as a working professional in that particular field. It sounds bad I know but it is the truth and I am sure many others have been in the same situation. I only write it here because it is all part of my journey as an artist and photographer.

I do have higher hopes for 2013. We have a baby on the way and I am currently about to submit my Summer image submission to Vermont Life. I have begun some attempts at more Photoshop work and photo manipulation. I feel at times that with most of my work I am just documenting things and I really need to break out of that and explore some more artistic creativity with photo manipulations.  In any case I wish you all the best for 2013 and here are my twelve best images for 2012…Enjoy!

April. Lake Champlain. Burlington, Vermont

April. Lake Champlain. Burlington, Vermont

August. Lake Champlain. Burlington, Vermont

August. Lake Champlain. Burlington, Vermont

December. Mount Mansfield. Underhill, Vermont

December. Mount Mansfield. Underhill, Vermont

February. Oakledge Park. Burlington, Vermont

February. Oakledge Park. Burlington, Vermont

January. Oakledge Park. Burlington, Vermont

January. Oakledge Park. Burlington, Vermont

July. Warren Falls. Warren, Vermont

July. Warren Falls. Warren, Vermont

June. Stevensville Brook. Underhill, Vermont

June. Stevensville Brook. Underhill, Vermont

March. Perkins Pier. Burlington, Vermont

March. Perkins Pier. Burlington, Vermont

May. Stevensville Brook. Underhill, Vermont

May. Stevensville Brook. Underhill, Vermont

November. Sterling Mountain. Smugglers Notch, Vermont

November. Sterling Mountain. Smugglers Notch, Vermont

October. Underhill, Vermont

October. Underhill, Vermont

September. Stevensville Brook. Underhill, Vermont.

September. Stevensville Brook. Underhill, Vermont.

9 thoughts on “My Best images of 2012 from a Vermont Photographer

  1. I am so proud of you and how amazing your photos are. I just saw a quote “It doesn’t mater how far it goes as long as you advance the ball” and I thought of you. Remember to look back at how far you have come.

Leave a Reply

