Cold Embrace


Snow on rocks with clouds in a long exposure on Lake Champlain.

Snow on rocks with clouds in a long exposure on Lake Champlain.

I have been hard pressed to find much snow around Lake Champlain lately and I happened to shoot this image at sunset a few days before we got over a foot of snow! The cloud formations have been really terrible as of late and at last the clouds broke and formed some nice shapes just for a few hours. As I was waiting for blue hour to come around I spotted this scene with the snow-covered rock and tree stump. Getting this shot was a challenge as the small bit of shoreline here had a slight slope to it. Luckily I have a short center column for my tripod which made getting the shot a breeze but I had to contort my back a bit to compose.

This view looks towards the southern end of Lake Champlain and the Adirondack Mountains. On camera right is the main area of the waterfront with a public boathouse and boat moorings and on camera left is the Echo Center which is a science building all about the Lake. To make this shot I used one two stop graduated neutral density filter and a long exposure. It was really getting dark at this point so smoothing out the waves in the water was no problem!

Image Data: ISO 100. 17mm. F11 @ 8 seconds. Canon 7d and a Canon 17-40mm lens. Induro Tripod, Kirk L bracket and a B+W UV filter.

9 thoughts on “Cold Embrace

  1. Very Cool shot Andy, pun intended. The varied tones on the mountain are perfect in this image and I love the way the shape of the cloud mirrors the shape of the rock. So much to take in that each time I look I notice something new.

Leave a Reply

