Blue Night


Sunset over Lake Champlain and the Burlington waterfront boathouse shot out of focus intentionally.

Sunset over Lake Champlain and the Burlington waterfront boathouse shot out of focus intentionally.

Call me crazy but I really love shooting sunsets and during blue hour in the winter month’s! The weather conditions are not always perfect however there is a certain peace about being outside at that time that appeals to me. The colors and the crispness of the air really are out of this world and it can be a heck of a lot of fun shooting images outside of the normal stuff one may capture. We finally had some fresh snow a few weeks ago and I was out shooting by the public boathouse which is right on the shores of Lake Champlain.

Usually in the Summer months this area is quite crowded which is why I prefer the colder months. This night was no exception as there were minimal people around and some decent color in the sky. After shooting some normal sunset images I decided to play around with shooting some out of focus images. These types of shots appeal to my love of abstract work and I really liked how the lights from the boathouse were in contrast to the moody skies of the sunset in this one. Just something a little different on a cold winters night!

Image Detail: ISO 100. 31mm. F4 @ 1 second

6 thoughts on “Blue Night

  1. You are Crazy, but so am I for the self same reason. I also think the air is cleaner during the winter months and there is a certain crispness that comes across in images. The blues always seem just that much more blue.
    I really like the feel of this shot and the interplay between the warm lights and sunset and the coldness of the sky.

Leave a Reply

