Frozen Embrace


Ice formations on rocks and sunset Over Lake Champlain. Oakledge Park. Burlington, Vermont.

Ice formations on rocks and sunset Over Lake Champlain. Oakledge Park. Burlington, Vermont.

When the clouds and overcast skies do break around here in Vermont, We have been treated to some really fantastic sunsets and winter landscape photography! I try to get out as often as I can when I see the conditions are favorable and I was treated to quite a show last week. Due to the extreme cold we had the waves hitting the shoreline were creating some really great ice formations giving the rocks here an alien world sort of look. While there is not much snow to speak of there are all kinds of crazy shapes in the ice making for some good foregrounds.

Here I was getting some good color in the sky but the positioning of the sun made the foregrounds a bit darker than I would have liked. This image is a two image exposure blend and while the two exposures are pretty close to each other just that small difference in settings allowed me to add in a hint of light and detail to the foreground rocks while keeping the gorgeous color in the sky. I always want to keep my exposure blends believable, That is I don’t want to push the foreground exposure so much that it doesn’t match the light in the sky. I wanted a hint of light and to make the image as close to what I was actually seeing as possible.

Image Data: ISO 100. 17mm. F11 @ 1/8 and 1/25. No filters.

Look for me over on G+ here!

5 thoughts on “Frozen Embrace

Leave a Reply

