The Wandering Man


Self portrait Vermont photographer

Self portrait taken at sunset on the shores of lake Champlain. Burlington, Vermont.

I am not much of a self-portrait taker however on this night I just had to shoot some selfies! I work on a college campus and have been off from work for thirteen days due to spring break so I have had plenty of time to shoot. Mother Nature had other plans as she always does here in Vermont and my first seven days off were spent looking at grey, flat, shapeless clouds. It’s what I refer to as the “big, grey wall of nothing.” I was beginning to wonder if we would ever see the sun again when finally the clouds started to move out of the area revealing an actual horizon line and the Adirondack Mountains which you can see from the Burlington side of the lake.

I thought I was going to get skunked yet again but as the sun set below the horizon the clouds moved on and I was treated to quite a show of color! I had not seen sunset color like this since January and it was a most welcome sight. The image here was shot on the tail end of the sunset and the low clouds were a treat as they were helping to reflect and intensify the color present in the sky. This location is right on the Burlington bike path but a bit of a hike away from the main section of our waterfront. The view is looking south along Lake Champlain and over to the Adirondacks…It’s isn’t the prettiest view behind me which is the City’s main water treatment facility but the view in front is one I am glad I didn’t miss!

Image Data: ISO 100. 17mm. F11 @ 0.3 seconds. No filters.

You can always connect with me on G+ right here!

One thought on “The Wandering Man

Leave a Reply

