Giant


Lake Champlain-Rock-Burlington-Vermont

Giant boulder fallen from a cliff that is part of a thrust fault that runs under Lake Champlain. Burlington, Vermont.

The Lake Champlain valley is a pretty diverse ecosystem with a wealth of photographic possibilities. In my earlier post “A Thrust Of Earth,” I introduced you to a rather unique location on Lake Champlain and another spot with wealth of photo ops! This area is a thrust fault which runs under the lake and is the only spot in Burlington with massive cliffs and rocky outcroppings. There is a ton of visual interest at this location but on the day I was here for my first visit the sky wasn’t great and it was more of a scouting mission.

I took what nature gave me and made several long exposures…One of which is this giant boulder which sits at the base of the fault. The boulder broke off from the cliffs above and now sits in the water on a very small bit of loose rocky shoreline. The location here is very tight with not much room to manuever for compositions but with more time and the right weather conditions this location is prime for some landscape shooting.

The windy conditions allowed me to break out the Lee Big Stopper for some long exposures. The sun kept poking out making some bright spots in the clouds but I think this shot came out nicely. The boulder with the still living trees growing on the side make for an interesting component to a landscape shot! The weather has been less than ideal but when the conditions improve I will return to this location. I have the ideas for some shots in my head, Now I just need Mother Nature to cooperate.

Image Data: ISO 100. 17mm. F11 @ 90 seconds. Lee Big Stopper.

8 thoughts on “Giant

  1. Amazing how trees appear to be able to flourish when you would think there was no possibility of that happening. The technique used really ensures the focus is all on this giant rock. Well done, Andy.

Leave a Reply

