Summer Storm


Vermont-Lake Champlain-storm_summer 2013

Storm front moving over Lake Champlain from the New York side.

Sometimes you have to give up a night of shooting to step back a bit from the camera and do some scouting for future shots. Last week I did just that, However as always I never leave home without my camera gear. I decided to take a walk o the bike path which runs along the Lake Champlain shoreline here in Burlington. It extends into the next town of Colchester and makes its way out to the Champlain islands which is some distance away.

I really was hoping for a bit of color but the hot and humid conditions had other plans. My intention was to scout out the shoreline on the northern section of the bike path but the beach areas here are pretty shabby and the high water right now essentially means there is no beach in these areas. As I was walking along the storm clouds kept building gradually covering up the sky and this was towards the end when I knew the color wasn’t going to appear and the rain was going to let loose at any minute!

The very hot and humid conditions made for a pretty boring raw file when I first looked at this one. There was a misty haze in the bottom of the frame from all the humidity and I am not sure how to describe it but I really think the humidity does something to an image. This one just had a weird vibe to it until I converted it into a black and white. Some simple processing in Silver Efex Pro 2 really brought out the drama in this one almost as if the clouds were swallowing up the brighter areas in the sky! It really was an awesome sight watching this storm build!

Image Data: ISO 100. 17mm. F11 @ 1/4. No filters.

4 thoughts on “Summer Storm

Leave a Reply

