Storm Glow


Lake Champlain-Vermont-Sunset-2013

Rock outcropping on the Lake Champlain shoreline at sunset with a passing storm.

With storms and otherwise terrible weather that comes over Lake Champlain I pay attention to what’s happening with the weather and if the light looks great I will grab my gear and head out to shoot. The view from my house is not the best but I can see how conditions are changing over the lake which makes deciding to go out to shoot or not fairly easy. I tend to look for the tail end of the storm systems as the light and clouds can be quite fantastic. You have to be quick however because the conditions can be awesome one minute and the next the clouds can completely dissipate leaving you with an empty, boring sky!

This shot was a desperation move as the park was crowded with people at all of the best compositions. The light was fading fast when I came across this grouping of rocks so I had to set up and get my images as quickly as I could. The rocks are pretty tight against the shoreline and wouldn’t you know it but this specific spot was infested with mosquitoes! The rocky ground made setting up my tripod difficult and the pesky mosquitoes were all over me but I managed to get my images and witness the end of a beautiful sunset!

I got lucky catching the tail end of a passing storm just as the sun set below the horizon. There was some awesome orange light in the sky and washing over the water and I even managed to capture a small sailboat off in the distance! Processing took a bit as I wanted to bring out some more light in the rocks which were very dark. I captured two images here for the sky and the rocks and blended them together in Photoshop. Nothing much was needed in the sky but I had to brush in a bit of light into the rocks and water in the foreground. It really is amazing the sights I get to see around here!

4 thoughts on “Storm Glow

Leave a Reply

