Summer Whisper


Summer-Sunset-lake Champlain-Vermont

Sunset over Lake Champlain with fading clouds and a rocky shoreline.

I follow weather patterns over Lake Champlain quite a bit waiting for sets of clouds that I like at sunset. I love cloud formations and how the vary from day-to-day but I especially love the colors they produce at sunset from all the reflected light! Where I live it’s easy for me to look out my window and see if the clouds over the lake are going to fizzle out or if the sunset is going to be a decent one for images. It was 50/50 on the day I shot this image but I still went out regardless.

As I picked out my composition the light was fading fast and the clouds along with it! I had just enough time to shoot this image with the last of the clouds. In fact this small whisper of clouds disappeared completely a few moments after I shot this leaving only the band of color at the horizon. The clouds here had an almost painterly quality to them as the fizzled away but they were reflecting some really gorgeous pink light along with them!

The processing was pretty simple on this one…One shot for the clouds and one shot for the foreground rocks. I blended the two images together in Photoshop using some brush work to balance out the exposure in the rocks. I always try to keep these blends as close as I can to what I was seeing and as natural looking as possible. It can be a challenge to find good sunset spots here in Vermont but on this night I think I had the best seat in the house!

4 thoughts on “Summer Whisper

Leave a Reply

