A Painted Sky


Lake Champlain-Vermont-Sunset-Storm

Storm and rain clouds over Lake Champlain at sunset.

We had a ton of rain in the Spring and early Summer this year and lucky for me that I am a Photographer and I was able to capture quite a few of these storms coming over Lake Champlain! The Lake is only a few minutes drive from my house so I can react quickly when they come in and get into position for some shots at several different locations. Every time I shoot these storms I am amazed at how varied they are…I never know what I am going to see from night to night.

If you notice in this image there are raindrops visible on the rocks and I only had a few moments to capture an image or two before it started to rain on me! I was fortunate that there were a few trees around for me to stand under while the rain quickly passed so I could keep shooting! The thing that impressed me most about this storm was the painterly quality to the clouds and light behind the rain clouds. The foreground clouds were really defined with some great depth but the sunset light and clouds behind looked almost like an abstract painting to me!

I had to do an exposure blend here due to the exposure difference on the foreground and in the clouds. A slightly more difficult one than usual because the rocks here were jagged making it a bit more challenging to blend the two together. I almost deleted these images but in the end I stuck with the image files and managed to make a cohesive image out of them!

5 thoughts on “A Painted Sky

Leave a Reply

