Mountain Fire


Vermont-Mount Mansfield-Sunset-Autumn

Last Light from sunset on the slopes of Mount Mansfield.

Curiosity got me during the foliage season as I wanted to see up close how sunset looked on the slopes of Mount Mansfield. Normally I can see it from a distance but I had a feeling that the light would do some amazing things when you add in the color of the leaves. The road to one of my favorite spots has a small pull out with this view and I can tell you I have looked at this shot countless times. I shot this years ago with a wide-angle but I think a much better shot is with a telephoto so you can get much closer and really show off what an incredible mountain this is. Lucky for me a friend has loaned me a long lens so i was finally able to pull off this shot!

I made this image just before peak color and this frame is moments before twilight and the sun dipping below the horizon. Literally right after I shot this the whole face of the mountain here turned dark and I lost this beautiful color. The area just below the image frame is on private property and there is a small house that sits in a field with probably the most stunning view of Mount Mansfield. The sunset light really added something special here and with the foliage color made the mountain look like it was on fire.

A challenging shot for sure due to the difference in exposure levels of the sky and the slopes of the mountain. Most of the weather I had during this foliage season was blue skies and zero cloud cover so I tried to minimize the sky in this one. I had to tame the sky exposure with some neutral density filters but other than that just my usual minor corrections for exposure, white balance, etc. Not a bad way to end a day of foliage shooting!

2 thoughts on “Mountain Fire

Leave a Reply

