Stars Over Burlington


Star Trails-Burlington-Vermont-Lake Champlain

Star trails over Lake Champlain and Burlington, Vermont from Oakledge Park.

I wanted to take this opportunity to wish all of my photography friends and followers a happy holiday season! I have been struggling with a never-ending and terrible cold for three weeks now so my posting has been a bit erratic. It’s been three years since I started this blog and my Twitter account at the same time and it has been quite the journey. It has been a great pleasure to meet and interact with photographers from all over the world and I am truly grateful for the support and friendship. While it has been slow going building a small photography business I feel I have made great strides forward with my work in the past year and a half. There are ups and downs of course and I wanted to thank everyone for joining my journey!

I have been thinking about the shot above for a number of years now and with the ending of the Autumn foliage season I decided to get more seriously involved with night photography. It’s been a challenge learning the ins and outs of shooting at night but the rewards for all of the hard work are well worth the effort. I love the city of Burlington where I live and I wanted to capture it in a new and unique way. It really is a beautiful city to look at from a distance and a star trail shot is just what I had in mind!

The final image consisted of 120 images that I took over an hours time stacked in Photoshop. My settings were F4 at ISO 400 for 30 seconds and I used Lightroom to perform the final edits. The only speed bump with this one was a small cloud in the bottom third of the frame that slowly dissipated over the time that I was shooting. A minor annoyance but I loved the final result of one of my first decent star trail shots! I hope you all enjoy this one and that you have the best holiday season!

3 thoughts on “Stars Over Burlington

Leave a Reply

